Coded Welding Certification

Having a qualified coded welder is important to make sure your welding job is compliant with the latest standards. Coded welding has various methods and codes each specific to a certain job in hand. Some of these codes are very specific to certain jobs while others are a lot more general.

In the UK, BS EN standards are used for the welder approval codes. Meanwhile in the USA the ASME IX standard is used.

A welding sample is provided for the job which needs to qualify to that specification. Once this sample is approved by a test examiner then the welder can be considered coded to that specification.

Due to the many standards available, each one requires testing to become a multi-coded welder.

A list of welder qualification standards are as follows:

  • BS EN ISO 9606-1
  • BS EN ISO 9606-2
  • BS EN ISO 9606-3
  • BS EN ISO 9606-4
  • BS EN ISO 9606-5
  • BS EN 287-1
  • BS 4872-1
  • BS 4872-2
  • AWS D1.1

These are the main standards used in the UK for coded welding qualification.

Once the welding has been completed then testing needs to be completed to see if the work carried out is up to scratch. There are various types of weld testing which are used to comply with the latest standards. NDT testing (Non-Destructive Test) is the most common test carried out in the industry today, a 5% inspection is usually recommended. MT testing (Magnetic Particle) is an alternative to NDT and another common test used in industrial welding.

Certified coded welding is often required for certain jobs, especially large contracts with bigger budgets.

Coded Welding